



CONTACT E-470 Media Relations Mediarelations@e-470.com

Media Advisory July 12, 2023

## E-470 Transportation Safety Foundation to Hold Grant Check Ceremony

Foundation Will Present Checks to 15 Organizations on Thursday

**AURORA, CO** – E-470's charitable arm, the Transportation Safety Foundation (TSF), will hold a grant check ceremony July 13 from 8:30 AM to 9:30 AM to award its 2023 recipients. Grants are awarded by the TSF board to organizations along the E-470 corridor and throughout the state each year. This year, a total of \$60,000 was awarded to 15 organizations in amounts ranging from \$2,500 to \$10,000 supporting programs such as car seat safety and training, driver education classes, seatbelt safety, senior/youth transportation safety, and more.

## **2023 TSF Grant Recipients**

- Arapahoe County Early Childhood Council (\$2,500)
- Aurora Fire Rescue (\$2,500)
- The Castle Rock Senior Activity Center (\$2,500)
- Children's Hospital Colorado Foundation (\$10,000)
- Colorado Teen Parent Collaborative (\$2,500)
- Denver Police Museum (\$5,000)
- DRIVE SMART Weld County (\$5,000)
- Forge Evolutions (\$2,500)
- Littleton Public Schools Driver Education Program (\$2,500)
- Save Our Youth (\$2,500)
- South Metro Safety Foundation (\$5,000)
- Special Olympics Colorado (\$2,500)
- The Refuge (\$5,000)
- Thriving Families (\$5,000)
- WeeCycle (\$5,000)

The ceremony will be held at the E-470 Administration Headquarters (Board Room) – 22470 E. Stephen D. Hogan Parkway in Aurora. Media are invited to take photos and video of the leaders of these organizations accepting their grant checks alongside TSF board members.

The number of organizations awarded this year increased by four from 2022. The Foundation was also able to award \$5,000 and \$10,000 grants for the first time in addition to their traditional grants of \$2,500.

Additionally, **25 high schools were awarded** grants of \$300 each to help fund after-prom events to provide students a safe and fun activity on prom night. Several high schools in each of E-470's member jurisdictions received funding. To see the full list of 2023 After Prom recipients, visit <a href="https://www.e-470.com/our-commitment/in-the-community/">https://www.e-470.com/our-commitment/in-the-community/</a>

The Foundation raises its own funds through a biennial golf tournament, without utilizing E-470 toll revenue, to provide grants to nonprofit organizations and tax-exempt government entities for transportation safety programs and education. Since the TSF was established in 2001, they have distributed nearly \$450,000 in grants to support these great causes.

The TSF Board, who led the distribution of the 2023 grants, is comprised of President Jan Pawlowski (E-470 Board of Directors Treasurer), Vice President Roger Partridge (Former Douglas County Commissioner), Secretary/Treasurer Heidi Williams (Former Thornton Mayor), Director Chaz Tedesco (E-470 Board of Directors Commissioner), Director Randy Drennen (Former Thornton Councilmember), Director Josh Martin (Former Parker Councilmember), and Director Lynn Myers (Former Arapahoe County Commissioner). All TSF board members are former board chairs of the E-470 Public Highway Authority.

**About the E-470 Public Highway Authority:** E-470 is the 75-mph toll road running along the eastern perimeter of the Denver metropolitan area. E-470 is a user-financed roadway, receiving no local, state, or federal funds for financing, construction, operations, or maintenance. A political sub-division of the state, the tollway is governed by the E-470 Public Highway Authority Board composed of eight local governments including Adams, Arapahoe and Douglas counties, and the municipalities of Aurora, Brighton, Commerce City, Parker, and Thornton. Additionally, E-470 operates *ExpressToll*, the all-electronic toll collection system available on E-470, Northwest Parkway and CDOT's Express Lanes. For more information, please visit <u>e-470.com</u>.

###